Feedsack Fabric, Dresses & Kit Kittredge – NaJuPicMo

July 8, 2008 at 9:23 am 23 comments

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Suzannah has become interested in the American Girl dolls, especially since we saw the Kit Kittredge movie.  And, because she is Suzannah, wearer of dresses, she wants to wear the calico and feedsack dresses of the depression era.  Can love for certain kinds of fabric be genetic?  I remember long talks with M. about what colors of fabric we liked.  We liked very similar things when we’d go to antique shops.  We liked shabby stuff before it was chic to like shabby stuff.  We liked orange and robin’s egg blue.  So, after the movie, when Suzannah mentioned wanting about ’100 dresses like Kit and her friends’ I had a real sense of continutity between us three generations of girls.  It’s all come together over fabric of all things. 

So, now I’m on the hunt for patterns to make Suzannah dresses like this.  It’s funny, I thouht it would be a simple task.  I’d find something on ebay or at one of the many cool online fabric shops I drool over.  But, nothing yet.  But I have the fabric all ready to go…she wanted the first one to be aqua…

 

 

 

 

 

 

…the last one on the right.  My personal faves are the two orange ones. 

If anyone knows how to get ahold of patterns for dresses like these…please let me know!  They don’t have to be authentically vintage.

Entry filed under: Adoption, american girl, birth mothers, blogging, Children, crafty, Daughters, decorating, fabric, Family, feedsack, first mothers, Motherhood, najupicmo, Parenting, pictures, Second Grade, sewing, Shopping, vitage, Zannie. Tags: .

Best. Picture. Ever – NaJuPicMo Golly! Those Cupcakes have Lollies – NaJuPicMo

23 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Shea  |  July 8, 2008 at 1:50 pm

    Try here: http://www.sovintagepatterns.com/page/page/1693568.htm

    or Amazon Drygoods, I know they do vintage style patterns for theater etc.

    Reply
  • 2. imtina  |  July 8, 2008 at 2:12 pm

    Shea, I KNEW you would have a lead for me! I’m going there right NOW!

    Tina

    Reply
  • 3. kim kim  |  July 8, 2008 at 2:16 pm

    A pattern like that isn’t too hard to make. I studied pattern making (don’t ask me to draw this I am not good although I managed to pass the exam)

    BUT

    You get a simple A line dress pattern and just change the front bit and then cut out the pattern with the adjustments.

    Same with the collar and the sleeve parts.

    OR

    Find different dresses that have similar pieces like what you want on the dress and mix and match them into one pattern.

    The front you will probably have to draw yourself though.

    OR

    Find a pattern for a shirt/blouse and then all you have to do is add the A line skirt to it, that’s probably the easiest.

    You will have to change the front part of the shirt pattern, redraw the line so that it has that curvy wave, do that by having tracing paper over the top of the original pattern and then cut it out.

    Hope this helps?

    Reply
  • 4. imtina  |  July 8, 2008 at 2:37 pm

    *gulp*

    That’s a lot of stuff to figure out. I’m a sewing ninny. I only do really, super easy stuff and don’t even really know how to read a pattern properly. I keep meaning to take a class. I admire your talent in being able to do that Kim. I’m going to keep on hunting on ebay and poking around online while I amass my stash of fabric.

    Thank you for helping!

    Reply
  • 5. Shea  |  July 8, 2008 at 3:01 pm

    Here’s the best one style-wise from the sovintage site: http://www.sovintagepatterns.com/catalog/item/4521240/4928400.htm
    drop the bloomers and make the skirt longer which I don’t think would be too hard.

    I’ll keep looking… we love vintage patterns and fabrics too and have amassed quite the collection. Sophie fell in love with my aunt’s Saucy Walker doll so one Christmas we got Sophie her own doll and M got GOBS of patterns to make clothes for it. They are so adorable!

    I’ll hit some of my other favorite haunts and see what I find ;)

    Reply
  • 6. imtina  |  July 8, 2008 at 6:20 pm

    Shea…you rock. I might buy that pattern, but OMG it’s $35.

    Thanks for taking an interest in our new obsession!

    Tina

    Reply
  • 7. Shea  |  July 8, 2008 at 7:00 pm

    Well, if all else fails you could just cheat and get her the Kit dress here: http://store.americangirl.com/agshop/html/MultiProductPage.jsf/itemId/766/itemType/DISPLAYGROUP/webTemplateId/4/uniqueId/178/saleGroupId/301

    but I think it’s a bit dear at $90+ for the outfit!

    I love the little hat, I think I saw a pattern for one similar on knitty.

    Reply
  • 8. Tina  |  July 8, 2008 at 10:15 pm

    Shea….it’s not a dress, therefore, it’s not ok. Now, if they had Ruthie’s dress for sale…slam dunk.

    I just don’t know WHERE this child gets her strong ideals….

    Reply
  • 9. kim kim  |  July 8, 2008 at 10:33 pm

    I probably overloaded you with information?

    Well if we were hovering over the kitchen table with tracing paper and the patterns I’d show you and it would look easy.

    A few years ago I got totally into sewing and even let myself be a slave to a couturier for almost a whole year, sometimes I sewed seven hours straight for him. Often making mistakes….

    Then I studied pattern making in this awful class and it was all in Dutch it was really hard and I can’t draw at all so had to learn. I just made it through and got the diploma. I don’t remember most of it anymore.

    I hardly ever sew now but when I look at the dress I can see how it’s put together.

    If we were neighbours I’d come and help.

    The link you got from the other lady looks great.

    Reply
  • 10. kim kim  |  July 9, 2008 at 8:45 am

    p.s. you can also look for patterns for school uniforms because this dress is very similar in shape. Then you just have to change the collar a bit and make a belt for the front.

    Reply
  • 11. Tina  |  July 9, 2008 at 10:28 am

    I am thinking about all of your ideas like just borrow from one pattern and then combine things with other patterns. I might use the help of a seamstress too.

    Kim, it would be lovely to have you nearby. I imagine we could take walks and knit and sew and I could bring over pies and tarts and undo all the wonderful good the yoga is doing!

    If you are ever in California, you know you are always welcome in our home. You can stay in Suzannah’s room which has been recently renovated as showcased in a previous post.

    Tina

    Reply
  • 12. kim kim  |  July 12, 2008 at 11:25 am

    That would be cool. I could give you sewing lessons and read your tarot cards. You could teach me how to cook. I’d love to visit one day!

    Reply
  • 13. Jo W  |  July 13, 2008 at 8:55 pm

    My girls and their friends are begging me to make the feed-sack dress. I’m going to make the pattern and if it works out, I’ll be happy to share it with everyone. I’m a little rusty but it shouldn’t be that hard.

    Reply
  • 14. Tina  |  July 13, 2008 at 10:12 pm

    Jo,

    That is exciting! Let me know when you’ve figured out a pattern.

    I think the AG people missed a big opportunity here and couuld have been making a killing in patterns for their audience.

    I’ll look forward to hearing from you!
    Tina

    Reply
  • 15. Rene  |  July 30, 2008 at 6:06 am

    On ebay, there is a woman auctioning off the chance to have a kit kittredge dress made in your childs size. See auction #110274098568. The seller is Tickle Trunks Treasures. Maybe she could sell her pattern which she designed herself.

    Reply
  • 16. pat  |  August 19, 2008 at 11:42 pm

    I really have wanted to make the little green dress shown for my granddaughters…I have 4 of them ‘deep into American Girl dolls and matching dresses’.
    Why are there no patterns for these???
    I am just taking a couple of patterns and matching them to what I need. This is all I can do and I think I have got it. The collar has been a bit tricky, but I cut out tissue paper ones until they fit.
    the sizes I need are from a 6 to a 10 so once I have it down it is easier ot go up and down in sizes. Altho’ I have some feed sack fabric I am using some reproduction stuff I have found at quilt shops…My daughters would never take care of the real stuff.

    Reply
  • 17. pat  |  August 19, 2008 at 11:55 pm

    oh…one more thing…I agree that AG has missed the boat when it comes to creating matching patterns for little girls and dolls. I make them all the time for my 4 granddaughters and I have to ADJUST ALL OF THE TIME. One of them went to the New York American Store for lunch this summer for a birthday party. She said there were only about 4 little girls there with matching outfits. Hers really matched to the purse as well as shoes. I made the doll’s shoes to closely match Kathryn’s. I have been doing this since our first bitty baby and fairy birthday party. It is possible to do all of this but it takes about as much time to figure it all out as it does to make it.

    Reply
  • 18. Noelle  |  December 23, 2008 at 5:20 pm

    If anyone gets a pattern, please post it! My daughter wants a dress. I agree A.G. is missing out! I guess our only hope is that A.G. puts a dress for sale and we can buy it for a really expensive price and then I’ll pay more $$ for a seamstress to take it apart and make patterns!! Ha! Ha! This dress is going to cost me a fortune! If I find anything I’ll be sure to post it! Thanks for all the input!

    Reply
  • 19. Sandy  |  February 11, 2009 at 7:14 am

    Hi! Just saw this – I don’t know if you’re still looking, but this might help if you are. I’ll try to send as a link, but if it doesn’t work, the website is childrenscornerinc.com. I don’t know what sizes you would need. The Jennie Leigh dress looks more like Kit’s but it only goes up to a size 4. I’ve sewn these patterns before, and they are great! Good luck!
    Sandy
    http://www.childrenscornerinc.com/store/cart.php?target=product&product_id=373&category_id=72

    Reply
  • 20. Celia  |  July 4, 2010 at 11:39 am

    That is a pretty little dress. Have you ever made school uniforms?

    Reply
  • 21. kbnelson  |  August 25, 2011 at 3:29 pm

    Is the photo of the dress yours? I’m looking for a few pictures to use in an article about feedsacks…
    Thanks!
    karen

    Reply
  • 22. Shari @For the Little Doll In Your Life  |  October 11, 2011 at 4:17 am

    I just realized how old this post is! But maybe this will help someone else out. I haven’t made this pattern myself, but it’s what I think of when someone is looking for a Kit style dress pattern:
    http://www.oliverands.com/patterns/dresses/patterns7.phtml

    Reply
  • 23. Carrie  |  August 2, 2012 at 12:43 pm

    My daughter is into the same thing! Where did you find you cool vintage looking fabric?

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


I Heart Snarky Librarians

Click this star to find out how you can support Judy/JustEnjoyHim in her fight against breast cancer:
judy
girls are strong
Alltop, confirmation that I kick ass

Blog Stats

  • 87,496 hits
July 2008
M T W T F S S
« Jun   Aug »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
28293031  

Categories

Feeds

adoption international adoption reform identity first mothers motherhood daughters


    Follow

    Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

