Patterns for Kit’s Feedsack Dress

July 15, 2008 at 3:35 pm 6 comments

I have been on a mission to find the holy grail of a pattern for a Kit Kittredge dress for Zannie.  There have been many that I’ve liked and Shea directed me to beautiful vintage dresses.  Anyway, here is a sample of patterns I’ve found that may help you out if you are in the same boat as I am; needing to make one of these dresses and not a clue where to start.  Here’s what I’ve found so far.  (By the way, a real seamstress could make a nice little chunk of change making these dresses and selling them on ebay…)

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

This is Project Runway’s line of patterns for Simplicity (#2986)  It starts at size AA 8 and goes up, but I think if you’re an experienced sewer, you can cut the pattern to fit a smaller size.  I particularly liked the detailing options on this pattern, particularly the sleeves and the trim at the neckline.  I think the feedsack and calico fabrics are going to look fabulous worked up in this pattern.  I think you could put in a faux belt if you wanted mid-way or you could do it drop waist also. 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

This is Simplicity (#2878 ) and I bought it for the neckline detailing alone.  Those flaps, fastened down with black buttons were screaming out to me!  I think for 1930’s styling, the bodice is too nipped in, but the piping and the small print on the example here made me buy it.  (That and Simplicity patterns were 40% off right now) 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

This is a very sweet and cute pattern, and I’m not sure I’ll use it, but I do like the sleeves on this and I think you could customize it all over the place.  I think it’s too pleated for 1930’s, but it’s all about what you like personally, right? 

I ended up buying more yardage as well because the fabric is irresistable to me.  Here are companies that are making reproduction feedsack fabrics and modern takes on vintage fabrics.  Enjoy!

http://www.robertkaufman.com/fabrics/designers/darlene_zimmerman/

http://www.fabricattic.com/newpage12.htm

http://www.fabricattic.com/aunt.htm

http://www.sewmamasew.com/ccp0-catshow/CLSWELL.html

Please, let me know how you all do and if you make a Kit inspired dress, please send me a photo!!

 

Tina

Entry filed under: Adoption, american girl, blogging, Children, crafty, Daughters, decorating, fabric, Family, feedsack, Motherhood, najupicmo, Parenting, pictures, sewing, Shopping, vintage, Zannie. Tags: .

Farmer’s Market & Flea Market Treasures – NaJuPicMo Zannie Goes To The City – NaJuPicMo

6 Comments Add your own

  • 1. uohaa  |  July 17, 2008 at 2:50 pm

    Cool !
    I t was very nice to read your beautiful Blog!
    Great work!

    Reply
  • 2. Margie (Third Mom)  |  July 28, 2008 at 9:53 am

    Hey, you, catching up a bit – long time no comment! Life is nuts!

    And I miss sewing. I had this dream that I’d make all my kids clothes, but with work it went right out the window. I have entire American girl wardrobes in the bag, never cut and never sewn. Makes me sad.

    Hopefully I’ll get them sewn for my grandchildren, if I have grandchildren!!!

    Reply
  • 3. lupe perez (male)  |  December 19, 2008 at 1:56 pm

    i am in the finishing stages of a kit dress, where i totally made up the pattern by draping a kid’s dress dummy. its a size six, in the style of the green dress kit’s aunt somebody made. i’ll take a pic when i finish it tonite. it was fun! LUPE

    Reply
  • 4. Shannon  |  October 19, 2009 at 6:05 am

    Did you ever make your Kit dress. I would love to see a pix.

    Shannnon

    Reply
  • 5. Erika Luke  |  February 3, 2010 at 7:04 pm

    Actually, box pleats were totally ‘in’ in the 30s. Try this pattern: New Look 6881. you can redraw the neck line of version A and the peter pan collar is on lots of dress patterns. Here’s another one from New Look 6842 version C. If you are mixing and matching patterns and don’t have much experience, it’s good to stay with the same company because they often use the same ‘basic’. I’m interested in this dress for my nieces too. Will be making their Easter dresses this year, so if you can wait that a couple months I may be able to help you with I was able to redraft. What size is your DD? I think you as the blog author should be able to see my email with this comment. Let me know.

    Reply
  • 6. Erika Luke  |  February 3, 2010 at 7:41 pm

    HA! I found this!! even better! No redrafting – just change the collar, easy-peasy.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


I Heart Snarky Librarians

Click this star to find out how you can support Judy/JustEnjoyHim in her fight against breast cancer:
judy
girls are strong
Alltop, confirmation that I kick ass

Blog Stats

  • 90,189 hits
July 2008
M T W T F S S
« Jun   Aug »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
28293031  

Categories

Feeds

adoption international adoption reform identity first mothers motherhood daughters


    Follow

    Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

