Forms and documents and fingerprints – Oh My!

September 24, 2006 at 9:28 pm 3 comments

So last week was the first week I started the actual work which in the beginning is what I am referring to as “the paper beast.” Most people might just refer to it as a bunch of forms. And I know that it’s just the beginning.

In international adoption, you have a distinct and specific path to follow in order to bring home your child. The first big part of the process is conducting your home study. Sometimes your adoption agency is also your home study agency, but that isn’t the case with us. Our home study agency is called Accept and it is located in the bay area. Our adoption agency is called adoption options and it is located in southern California. Right now, we’re in the home study bit. I’m culling and gathering birth certificates, taking pictures of the house, sending away for marriage certificates and (here’s the fun part) setting up the crib. Yeah, it’s a little early for the crib, I know. But, the home study does include social workers coming to your house to interview you, make sure you’re not misfits of society and make sure that you have ample room for a child. I don’t know if we have true ample room, but we have room. Our house has 3 bedrooms and 2.5 baths. That’s just huge compared to our house in southern California. Anyway, we have quickly converted our spare bedroom into a playroom and putting the crib in Zannie’s bedroom. So, two whole rooms and a bathroom dedicated to the girls. I have to say that today while we assembled the crib while Zannie helped us and learned how to work an allen wrench, I had the greatest feeling of satisfaction. I just hated the feeling I had when we finally put the crib away and in boxes two years ago. I clearly remembered when we were taking it down to the basement thinking, “Well, at least we’ll take it again out when Zannie has children.” Putting it up today and thinking about what kind of sheets and blankets to buy was enough to make me want to walk up to strangers and say, “you know what I just did?!! I set up the crib!!” I still might. I’ll never forget today.

This week I start an online course required of me and my husband. It is an education tool that they have adoptive parents do. It says to only do a chapter a day. They have never met me, it’s very clear. I’m going to have it done by Friday. Ask me on Friday if I’m done please. I like the pressure. Also this week, we have to go in and get fingerprinted and send in our FBI clearance forms. I think that after this, I’ll just cart their findings on our lives in my purse. Then, when another kid comes to play, I can just flash their report on our clean living. I mean, they’re letting us take a kid from Kyrgyzstan….you can leave your kids here for a couple of hours. It’s safe. Really. The feds said so.

Anway, we are really getting our feet wet and I’d say almost half the work is done on the forms for the home study. I got the packet in the mail on Thursday. I’m not even breaking a sweat. Tomorrow I’m mailing out stamped envelopes to four friends who are graciously writing letters to our agency regarding our character. It’s funny that they have a sheet with guidelines for your friends on how to write this letter. It says, “we don’t expect parents to be perfect.” HA! By nature, this process is set up to put prospective adoptive parents if not on the defense, certainly at the ready to show anyone at anytime that they are the most extra-normal people you’ve ever met. Articles are written on how to have your home presented for when the social worker comes to visit. It’s a very strange reality to be faced with – proving that you’re ok to be a parent. I submit exhibit A, my daughter. Here she is, my previous and ongoing work. Judge for yourself. I wish it could be that simple. Meanwhile, the paper beast is being tamed. For now.

Entry filed under: Adoption, Children, Family, Kyrgyzstan.

He said yes! The beautiful people

3 Comments Add your own

  • 1. imhelendt  |  September 25, 2006 at 8:48 am

    LOL! Are you done yet? Are we there yet? You’re lucky you have a girl. With someone coming for a home study, I’d be like: YOU WILL BE ON YOUR BEST BEHAVIOR. YOU WILL NOT MOUTH OFF OR TALK BACK. NO FIGHTING, NO HITTING, NO PUNCHING, PINCHING, BITING OR KICKING. DO NOT SPEAK UNLESS SPOKEN TO. BE POLITE. NO CHEWING WITH YOUR MOUTH OPEN, FARTING OR BURPING.

    OMG. I’d have to ask if the kids had to be there. LOL!

    Reply
  • 2. imtina  |  September 25, 2006 at 8:31 pm

    Oh yeah…she’ll be getting lots of instructions to turn on all the charm. The good thing is, she is in a particularly cute phase. Hopefully it sticks around for awhile.

    Reply
  • 3. shelly  |  January 18, 2007 at 10:29 am

    i love your decorations!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


I Heart Snarky Librarians

Click this star to find out how you can support Judy/JustEnjoyHim in her fight against breast cancer:
judy
girls are strong
Alltop, confirmation that I kick ass

Blog Stats

  • 97,024 hits
September 2006
M T W T F S S
    Oct »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
252627282930  

Categories

Feeds

adoption international adoption reform identity first mothers motherhood daughters


