The beautiful people

September 25, 2006 at 9:19 pm 3 comments

Last night I invited my aunt over to dinner. Now, we were cooking our usual big Sunday dinner and it just so happened to be ribs. Ribs are her favorite. My thinking was that I knew she would definitely show up for ribs and then I could ask her to take a family picture that we could add to our documents to be sent to our agency. Earlier that day my husband surprised me by buying me a new digital camera. My aunt takes good pictures of people and isn’t intimidated by anything digital and so she was the perfect person to ask for dinner. I know this is a serious aside, but those were some awesome ribs. It is an Alton Brown recipe from the food network. If you really want the recipe you can search their site for “Who loves you baby back ribs” I baked up some nice corn muffins, made some tangy cole slaw and steamed green beans. YUM.

Ok, so we plied her with a big glass of red wine and asked her to take our picture. Again, the marketing animal in me reared her ugly head while trying to get the shot. In between flashing my best smile, I was uber-controlling. No! Get in closer. That’s too high. Zannie, move over here! The picture we got in the end is really, really good. All three of us never look this good at the same time. But, afterward I was making jokes about how normal and well-adjusted we all look and at the same time, feeling that I was not so attractive on the inside. I keep getting so wound up and spazzy. I keep feeling like I have to prove that we’re perfect. That I’m good enough. And in a way I do. But what’s kind of not so good is that I can’t just have my picture taken and have the result be ok with me no matter how it comes out. Maybe if I hadn’t been feeling that bit of anxiety, the picture would have been even better. Who knows. This reminds me of that character Billy Crystal had on Saturday Night Live who sat around in a smoking jacket talking about how suave he is and “Ju know, it’s better to look good than to feel good.”

I have to go. I need to do another chapter of my online homework. Also, can someone out there tell me how you do all this work and get anything else done? I haven’t worked out in about 3 weeks now. Maybe exercise is the key for me – I can sweat my worries away.

Entry filed under: cooking, Family, International Adoption.

Forms and documents and fingerprints – Oh My! The Stan Family

3 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Becky- aka bahalter  |  September 26, 2006 at 3:40 am

    Hi there,

    Just had to say Helen told me about your blog and wanted to wish you the best. Coming from someone who has conducted probably hundreds of homestudies- please try to relax! It is never as bad as you think- and infinitely easier than having the whole free world see you naked. I hardly ever made anyone take their clothes off during an interview…Seriously, feel free to call or email if you need a brain to pick- I would be delighted to talk with you about adoption. Best of luck!

    Becky

    Reply
  • 2. imtina  |  September 26, 2006 at 9:51 am

    Becky!! Great to hear from you! Thanks for the encouragement. I need it.

    Reply
  • 3. imhelendt  |  September 26, 2006 at 12:55 pm

    As usual, it’s sass and more sass day. Tina I can not believe you haven’t finished the course. It’s Tuesday. ;P

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


I Heart Snarky Librarians

Click this star to find out how you can support Judy/JustEnjoyHim in her fight against breast cancer:
judy
girls are strong
Alltop, confirmation that I kick ass

Blog Stats

  • 97,008 hits
September 2006
M T W T F S S
    Oct »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
252627282930  

Categories

Feeds

adoption international adoption reform identity first mothers motherhood daughters


