Dossier update

December 7, 2006 at 8:38 pm 1 comment

So, I whipped through our dossier. It is 90% done and sent off to our adoption agency. The two things I haven’t done yet are the ‘good conduct’ letters that have to come from the local police (why? WHY??? Aren’t the state and federal fingerprints enough???) and the physician’s form stating that we have no life-threatening conditions. I am not doing those until January as these two documents have a 3 month shelf life before they expire. We don’t want to get these until we are closer to getting a referral for a specific child. I don’t care to do them twice because for both forms, we have to bring the notary to sign the documents WITH the doctor and the police. So, what I definitely feel now is that the homestudy is much more pressing and stressful. It’s so personal. With the dossier, it’s just a pain in the behind. Not difficult, just a bit tedious with all the notary requirements and all. We just plunked down over $300 in notary fees.

So, I have nothing to do on the adoption front until January. That’s good for awhile so I can concentrate on Christmas. But then again, waiting is not my strong point and I may go into obsess mode. I’ll report on the state of my mental health as it changes and, let’s be realistic, as it declines.

Entry filed under: Adoption, International Adoption, Kyrgyzstan.

I’ve been tagged Come see our dossier pictures!

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. imhelendt  |  December 8, 2006 at 9:06 am

    LOL! I was with a friend yesterday who has an 18 month old. As I was watching her run all around with Mom chasing right behind, I thought of you. And I am grateful it wasn’t ME. ROFL!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


I Heart Snarky Librarians

Click this star to find out how you can support Judy/JustEnjoyHim in her fight against breast cancer:
judy
girls are strong
Alltop, confirmation that I kick ass

Blog Stats

  • 96,361 hits
December 2006
M T W T F S S
« Nov   Jan »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
25262728293031

Categories

Feeds

adoption international adoption reform identity first mothers motherhood daughters


