I’ve been tagged

December 7, 2006 at 8:11 pm 3 comments

My friend Helen (her blog is on my blogroll Welcome to MY world) tagged me. I LOATHE this. But, for some reason, when it comes to Helen I am bowing to peer pressure. So, drumroll please….
SIX WEIRD THINGS ABOUT ME
(Can there be that many???)

(in no particular order)

1. I like hamburgers. I like pickles. I don’t like pickles on my hamburger.

2. I like re-reading books and re-watching movies over and over. The first time I read ‘Gone with the Wind’ I finished the last page and then went straight back to page 1 without blinking. For whatever reason, I’ve seen ‘When Harry Met Sally’ about 97 times and I’m not even exaggerating. I can quote long passages from it. I don’t know why, I just can.

3. I could knit a scarf for someone with my eyes closed, but no matter how hard I try I cannot crochet. I’ve taken classes and bought hooks as thick as turkey basters, but I just can’t do it.

4. I’ve made over 800 marshmallow pies. Once, in a twelve hour period, in a commercial kitchen, I made over 200 pumpkin pies. I haven’t eaten pumpkin pie since.

5. By the time my daughter was conceived, I already owned an entire wardrobe for her from size newborn to 2T. I was possessed! I bought every green, yellow and plain overalls there were on the market.

6. I’m addicted to buying dishes. I go crazy over dishes the way some women go crazy over bags or shoes. I have many sets of dishes and countless serving pieces and platters, soup tureens, bowls and the like. I want to travel to Portugal specifically so I can buy a houseful of their pottery. My new obsession is to get a set of Annie Glass dishes. They are gorgeous hand-blown glass dishes with metallic edging. Modern and traditional at the same time.

7. I was about 10 miles from the epicenter of the ’89 earthquake in Northern California and didn’t feel it. The Bay Bridge collapsed from this earthquake and it was 70 miles away from the epicenter. Splain that one Lucy.

8. If I hear the Law and Order “dun dun” sound in the beginning of the show and I happen to see more than 10 seconds of the episode, I must watch the entire thing. I am sucked in and won’t move to go to bed or even go to the bathroom.

Ok, so that’s EIGHT weird things about me. Gawd. The shame of it all. Bring on the comments, I can take it.

Entry filed under: Children, cooking, Motherhood.

A short mention of my mother Dossier update

3 Comments Add your own

  • 1. imhelendt  |  December 8, 2006 at 9:04 am

    LOL! You’re weirder than I thought. 😀 hee hee I’m still giggling. What exactly is a marshmallow pie? Is it good? I want the recipe.

    Reply
  • 2. abunusa  |  December 13, 2006 at 3:46 pm

    hi

    Reply
  • 3. Abby  |  December 18, 2006 at 12:50 pm

    Soooo, I just came across your blog somehow and found myself sucked in! =)

    And I just want to say that numbers 2 and 8 fit me perfectly too!!! (Right down to being able to quote almost anything from When Harry Met Sally…or the plotlines for most L&O:SVU episodes.)

    Happy holidays!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


I Heart Snarky Librarians

Click this star to find out how you can support Judy/JustEnjoyHim in her fight against breast cancer:
judy
girls are strong
Alltop, confirmation that I kick ass

Blog Stats

  • 96,351 hits
December 2006
M T W T F S S
« Nov   Jan »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
25262728293031

Categories

Feeds

adoption international adoption reform identity first mothers motherhood daughters


