Two, simple, huge resolutions.

January 1, 2007 at 10:36 pm 2 comments

images.jpg

They are the same every year. I make two resolutions at the beginning of each year though they are more accurately described as open-ended wishes. I define my resolutions differently every year based on what is going on in my life and reflecting on how I fell short the year that is coming to a close. Every year I resolve to create, have and embrace more quality in my life and every year I remind myself to create, have and embrace more gratitude.

What this has meant to me in the past are things like:

Eat better food by shopping more at farmer’s markets
less tv
learn to knit something other than a scarf
remember to be more in the moment

etc. etc. etc. Also, I usually throw in a silly resolution and see if I can actually keep it up for a whole year. For 2006 it was to shave my legs more often. I failed.

So, for 2007 what I want to have more quality in is being more present for my family and spending less time worrying about things that, ultimately don’t matter as much as them. I spend too much time obsessing about my house and I need to deal with that. I want to have more gratitude for the moment. I have an incredible five year-old daughter who is sensitive and funny and beautiful and smart. I have a husband who knows me inside and out, sees my weirdnesses and still loves me and works hard and drives awhile to get there so that I can be a stay at home mom.

Quality.
Gratitude.

It’s what I need every year. Maybe this year I’ll succeed. After all, I’ve given up on the shaving resolution. Maybe this year my silly resolution will be to eat less chocolate. Already feeling wobbly about that one.

Entry filed under: Adoption, Family, Motherhood.

Top Ten Stupid Things People Say about Adoption Where is it?

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Shea  |  January 2, 2007 at 8:25 am

    Never make resolutions concerning chocolate 🙂 Unless it’s resolving to eat best quality chocolate 🙂 I read somewhere that 1oz daily is good for you (best quality bitter sweet… I’m partial to Valrhona and El Rey when you can find it… which is a problem here in SC… probably less so for you in CA!)

    Great resolutions! Mine are similar… enjoy more, judge less, actively live every day… you get the idea 🙂

    Reply
  • 2. imhelendt  |  January 7, 2007 at 9:43 am

    I’m just wondering how one would go about measuring eating less chocolate? Just checking…

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


I Heart Snarky Librarians

Click this star to find out how you can support Judy/JustEnjoyHim in her fight against breast cancer:
judy
girls are strong
Alltop, confirmation that I kick ass

Blog Stats

  • 96,703 hits
January 2007
M T W T F S S
« Dec   Feb »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
293031  

Categories

Feeds

adoption international adoption reform identity first mothers motherhood daughters


