Emotional velcro

January 10, 2007 at 6:29 pm 7 comments

images1.jpg
Reading on others’ blogs about bonding with your baby and remembering my first months with Zannie, I have been thinking a lot about attachment and how it will go this time around. There is more to consider and prepare for with my second daughter and so I am doing my homework. I’ve been reviewing products that have anything to do with helping babies feel close and secure with mama. I’m really into the idea of getting a sling so that I walk in the house and have her actually joined at my hip. We can walk to the school and get Zannie when she is done for the day at kindergarten. I can look right at her little face all the time. (Note to self, strengthen core…more tae bo, more exercise ball)
I bought a sling when Zannie was born but she wanted nothing to do with it. She never wanted to be lying down. I had to hold her upright no matter what and the sling never quite created the right position for her. But, five years later there are so many different brands and types of slings, I just know we’ll find one. I’m going to hold off on buying one until I can try them out with her and let her pick the right one.

The other thing I found is sooo cute. It’s called a twinkle baby.Twinkle Baby They are a small, star shaped flannel or plush doll with a sweet, sleepy face. You sleep with it next to you and it picks up your scent and then you put it with the baby when you put her to sleep or if she needs comforting. I think this will be an excellent tool for us. I intend to create lots of ways of loving her up and giving her the message that I’m not going away.

I’d love to hear what other suggestions and experiences you have for attachment in adoption.

Entry filed under: Adoption, Children, Kyrgyzstan, Motherhood.

Hi Ho, it’s off to Kyrg we go! The phone is not my friend

7 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Shea  |  January 11, 2007 at 6:18 am

    I tried a sling with Sophie and she hated it! But! This time I’m trying a Toddlerhawk Mei Tai because it sits them up and it can be worn in front and in back (plus they are totally cool looking!).
    I’ll email you about the lovies.

    Reply
  • 2. Tiffanni  |  January 11, 2007 at 7:46 am

    I am seeing more and more people using the slings. Twinkle baby is making more and more things…sorry I don’t have any advice for you.

    Reply
  • 3. Michelle  |  January 11, 2007 at 11:59 am

    That twinke baby stuff is super cute! I too have become sling obsessed – how funny. I am all about the fashion print hotslings line.

    Reply
  • 4. Manuela  |  January 13, 2007 at 12:28 pm

    I have absolutely no advice on this, but I just wanted to let you know, how healing it for me as an adoptee, to read about women such as yourself, as you bond with your adopted children.

    Does my heart good. Really does.

    Reply
  • 5. kim.kim  |  January 13, 2007 at 2:33 pm

    I think it’s vitally important to cuddle them and keep them close to you as much as possible. I believe that the loss of their mothers and transition into a new family demands extra care. You will be a lovely mum I just know it.

    Reply
  • 6. Dawn  |  January 30, 2007 at 9:30 pm

    I came across your blog because we are considering adoption and I wanted to send you a link http://www.thebabywearer.com you will be able to find out all kinds of fabulous information on “baby wearing” different types of slings and carriers etc.. there are also specific chats about adoption and baby wearing!! Let me know if you have any questions.
    Good Luck, you sound like an amazing family

    Reply
  • 7. Petunia  |  February 2, 2007 at 7:25 am

    I love the twinkle baby. When we met our daughter at six weeks we had the foster mom put a small plush dog with her that i had sprayed with my perfume. When we saw her there for the two weeks before we brought her home i made sure to wear that perfume….i still do. I hope this helped her transition and she felt closer to me.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


I Heart Snarky Librarians

Click this star to find out how you can support Judy/JustEnjoyHim in her fight against breast cancer:
judy
girls are strong
Alltop, confirmation that I kick ass

Blog Stats

  • 96,948 hits
January 2007
M T W T F S S
« Dec   Feb »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
293031  

Categories

Feeds

adoption international adoption reform identity first mothers motherhood daughters


