The phone is not my friend

January 19, 2007 at 11:32 am 6 comments

children-on-slide.jpg
Ever since finishing my dossier and sending it off to our agency with kisses that Zannie and I blew into the envelope, I realize and am fully in ‘wait’ mode. This is not good for me. I have given over control and for me that is an unnatural state of being.

Right now, we are still number four on the list of waiting families. What has fueled on my feelings is finding out that the coordinator is in-country at the orphanages right now. Referrals will be coming I think! It is exciting to think of all our paperwork in Kyrgyzstan, being reviewed and translated.

I have a mental list of things to bring to Kyrgyzstan to give to the children and to the orphanage. Small, lightweight things are what I’m thinking are best. Socks, kids tylenol, fleece hats, shoe laces, nail clippers, small packs of markers, stickers. The orphanages are so in need of basic care items. Also, their winters are so cold. One thing I am going to make to bring to the children on the second trip are small loveys. They will probably be like the twinkle baby, but not nearly as neatly finished. I’m going to take 14 inch squares of flannel, and in one of the corners, make a little doll’s face. If I’m really industrious, I’ll edge them in something really soft like satin. We’ll see. If any of you out there are feeling moved to contribute to my care packages, please e-mail me privately and I will bring whatever is donated to the orphanage when I go.

So, while I wait and keep the cordless phone with me wherever I go, I clean my house, cook cozy meals while it’s so cold and bide my time. I’m watching my daughter grow before my eyes it seems. She is so beautiful and kind. She will be a great big sister. So, all three of us wait and dream.

Entry filed under: adopting, Adoption, Children, Family, International Adoption, Kyrgyzstan, Motherhood.

Emotional velcro Sooooo unfair

6 Comments Add your own

  • 1. actofkindness  |  January 19, 2007 at 1:34 pm

    Many of the everyday iteams such as socks and blankets, you can purchase there cheeper than here. What they can’t get is things like Barrier creams and pollysporin , cold sore creams, anti fungal ointments, ear/eye/ drops. These items are in great demand. for the kids, stickers are great because you can carry enough for 200 kids in your pocket. They love Pop Rocks as well. one little pack they will split with 10 to 15 kids so its better than regular candy, and more fun too. If you would like to bring money and purchase supplies over there, and need help with this, let me know and I will arrange for help for you. We also have some very good transulators if you need them .
    Blessings John

    Reply
  • 2. Jamie  |  January 19, 2007 at 2:03 pm

    Pop rocks went over well this last summer when I returned Kyrgyzstan:) John is right about the socks and hats and stuff, you can get them much cheaper there. Even the markers and such. They don’t, at least to my knowledge and searchings, have crayons which tend to be better for the younger children anyway, so bringing those might be a good idea. Stickers, however, are more difficult to come by than the markers, even in Bishkek and even the teenagers love them to put in their notebooks. The kids tylenol is a great idea as well as children’s vitamins, chapstick and such. Candy is in wide abundance there and is cheap, however if you were to bring American styled candy, like the pop rocks, or reeses (they don’t have peanut butter) it would be enjoyed:) Decent children’s books are a good idea as well. There are a few bookstores in Bishkek if you want to get them once in country, otherwise, those might be worth carrying along. Enjoy this time of preparing!

    Reply
  • 3. Michelle  |  January 19, 2007 at 2:51 pm

    It is difficult to wait – but very exciting every time the phone rings! Not quite to that point yet. Great ideas and very good info from the comments section!

    Reply
  • 4. mom2one  |  January 19, 2007 at 6:17 pm

    Best of luck while waiting!!

    Reply
  • 5. Jamie  |  January 20, 2007 at 9:29 am

    Peanut butter was an interesting experience, the older children enjoyed the idea, but then hated the peanut butter. Also, my roomate had a little toy her friends sent her that children loved. It was a disposable camera of sorts that took little square inch pictures that came out on stickers. She was able to take little pictures (pictures are a HUGE deal there) of the children and pass them out immediately and they could put them wherever. Polaroids (if you have one) are also helpful for this, or a digital camera so that you can print off the photos immediately to almost immediately. Most of the larger citys/villages have a place to develop digital or regular photographs. And the little boys might be interested in a football depending on their ages. Many have heard about American football, but you can’t get them there. You can deflate them easily and bring them along then pump them back up once your in country. I’m sorry I don’t have many ideas for babies! I worked mainly with children from 3 on up to 18 or so. The little boys love soccer and you can always buy a ball there upon arrival if you wanted to. This is an item that they are always in need of as they wear them out from constant play!

    Reply
  • 6. actofkindness  |  January 20, 2007 at 9:56 am

    We left jars of peanut butter, and I got an email from a friend there saying that when the knife hit the bottom of the jar, his kids started crying at the thought that it was gone. Last trip over, I brought 2 cases of the resteraunt style individual peanut butter. what a hit! When working in a community, I like to keep an endless pot of craft dinner going for the local kids. they love it.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


I Heart Snarky Librarians

Click this star to find out how you can support Judy/JustEnjoyHim in her fight against breast cancer:
judy
girls are strong
Alltop, confirmation that I kick ass

Blog Stats

  • 96,351 hits
January 2007
M T W T F S S
« Dec   Feb »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
293031  

Categories

Feeds

adoption international adoption reform identity first mothers motherhood daughters


