Waiting, organizing and shopping

February 1, 2007 at 11:31 am 2 comments

1867-20050501103716.jpg

Thanks to all who responded and emailed me about my last post. It felt good to get all of that out. My perspective widens as time goes by and the core stays the same, while my experiences grow. Fascinating.

We have no news on the referral. The coordinator is still in country and right now two other families are over there as well. How am I handling it? What else….cleaning, organizing, purging and shopping. My cabinets are tidy and well-organized. I’m about to go through our closet and chuck out things I no longer wear. In the girls’ room, I am doing the same and buying clothes in 12-18 month sizes. I’m nesting big time. I did this too when I was about 7 months pregnant with Zannie. Somehow I had it in my mind that I had to polish everything in order for it truly to be clean. I have more cookware than should be legal in the state of California, but I did it. I scrubbed and polished and buffed every piece. It took two days of uninterrupted work. Also, I was going to make family Christmas stockings and put all of our photos in albums and clean the garage and…and… I did a lot, but not all of it. So, I am definitely feeling this way again, but I have so much less time to do it. Thankfully I have my girl to keep my mind from going into the swirling vortex of compulsive cleaning. I did go online and make a registry because I have friends who are dying to throw a shower. How sweet is that?! That was a fun thing much like the day we set the crib back up. Looking at all those baby toys and thinking about strollers and slings brought back many happy memories. I found a great stroller that has a reversible handle so the little one can face out to the world, or face mama which I think is good in our circumstances. Also, I’m really getting into the idea of a sling, especially while we are still in Kyrgyzstan and for the long plane ride home. I am thinking of as many ways as I can to comfort and reassure the new little peanut.

So, until we get our referral, I shall be doing all that I can to keep my mind busy. I’m spending time reading about Kyrgyzstan and figure out where we’ll be staying, etc. It’s such a beautiful country with seemingly warm, hard-working and generous people. I look forward to our travels there so much and for Kyrgyzstan and its people to become part of the fabric of my family. I must take a break every day from my silliness to contemplate my incredible good fortune.

Entry filed under: adopting, Friends, International Adoption, Kyrgyzstan, Parenting, Travel.

Ok, here’s the thing… Fancypants

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. actofkindness  |  February 1, 2007 at 1:31 pm

    Feel free to email me, I can connect you with a couple of beautiful private bed and breakfasts in Bishkek
    cheep cheep cheep

    They cater to missionaries and humanitarian aid workers.
    blessings John

    Reply
  • 2. Jamie  |  February 1, 2007 at 3:28 pm

    The Philemon house? It’s great if that’s the one you’re talking about.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


I Heart Snarky Librarians

Click this star to find out how you can support Judy/JustEnjoyHim in her fight against breast cancer:
judy
girls are strong
Alltop, confirmation that I kick ass

Blog Stats

  • 96,524 hits
February 2007
M T W T F S S
« Jan   Mar »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
262728  

Categories

Feeds

adoption international adoption reform identity first mothers motherhood daughters


