Weekend celebration

February 5, 2007 at 9:39 am 2 comments

cake.jpg
This weekend our family had a wonderful party and celebration for my aunt’s 70th birthday. I am so fortunate to have a warm family who came from near and far to gather and have fun for my aunt. She is my mom’s sister and she looks a lot like my mom and reminds me of her too in her mannerisms and the things she’s interested in. For this I’m so grateful because my daughters will inherit some of what I know my mom would have passed on to them through my aunt. When it was my turn to get up and say a word about what my aunt means to me, I was suddenly very emotional and words poured out of my mouth about how glad I am for her in my life. I heard my family collectively sigh while I fought hard to say about how important she is to me especially since I no longer have a mom. My whole family misses my mom so much. There were a lot of tears, happy and sad. I made the cake you see above for her and it was one of my better cakes. It was a dark devil’s food filled with chocolate mousse and covered in ganache. I liked the way the pink roses really stood out against all that dark, luscious chocolate. Anyway, I have a very full heart and I think it will feel this way a good long time. My losses feel as though they’ve been swept back into the corners and the bounty of my family’s love is in the center of the room with a lovely light shining down on it.

Entry filed under: cooking, Daughters, Family, Motherhood.

Which only fuels my unwellness Wheeee!

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Tiffanni  |  February 5, 2007 at 10:29 am

    That is one gorgeous cake!!!!
    I am glad you have your aunt, too! 🙂

    Reply
  • 2. mom2one  |  February 5, 2007 at 1:32 pm

    What a beautiful tribute to your aunt and your mom. *hugs* to you.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


I Heart Snarky Librarians

Click this star to find out how you can support Judy/JustEnjoyHim in her fight against breast cancer:
judy
girls are strong
Alltop, confirmation that I kick ass

Blog Stats

  • 96,524 hits
February 2007
M T W T F S S
« Jan   Mar »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
262728  

Categories

Feeds

adoption international adoption reform identity first mothers motherhood daughters


