I’m up…they’re sleeping

March 4, 2007 at 3:55 pm 6 comments

It’s 3 a.m. ish here and I am wide awake.  WIDE awake.  I zonked out at about 6 pm.  I tried to stay awake so as to be on local time, but kept falling asleep while reading.  We had dinner and had Plov and soup with dumplings.  It was so delicious and delicately seasoned.  Zannie literally ate her last dumpling, sat back in her chair and fell asleep.  She’s still asleep!  That was over 12 hours ago.  I’m thinking she may wake up soon and that will be interesting. 

Today is the day we meet our daughter.  I hesitate in even writing ‘daughter’ because she is still very much not yet our daughter.  But, we have brought her the formula the doctors want her to have and a baby photo album with our pictures in it.  I know that the minute we see her, we’ll want to be taking care of her every minute.  It will be hard to leave the orphanage every day.  I feel strangely neutral in many ways.  I have seen pictures of the orphanage, but not our girl.  I don’t think I can prepare myself for today and so I am just reminding myself to stay in the moment and let the feelings come as they are.  I’ve already thought about them bringing her to us and how I will let Zannie hold her first, on my lap.  She has decided that I am ‘big mama’ and she is ‘little mama’ I kept it to myself that I don’t necessarily love the visuals I get when I hear ‘big mama’ .  I hope that I am just as good at mothering two children as I am at one.  I mean, I’m certainly not a perfect mother and I am constantly telling myself to be better and to have more patience.  I just have to be the best I can be. 

I think I hear Zannie stirring and waking up.  I’ll post later and hopefully with a picture of Isabel. 

Entry filed under: adopting, Adoption, Daughters, Family, International Adoption, Kyrgyzstan, Motherhood, Travel.

Hello from Bishkek! Isn’t she lovely? Isn’t she wonderful?

6 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Jenny  |  March 4, 2007 at 4:11 pm

    It´s in the middle of the night here in Sweden…the different it´s about 6 hours I think… but I don´t really know.. 😉

    Good luck with the baby, hope you can bring her home soon.

    /Jenny
    ps. I can´t write in english very well…

    Reply
  • 2. Michelle  |  March 4, 2007 at 4:41 pm

    It is almost 7am bishkek time now and I am so excited for you…You will do great big momma!

    Reply
  • 3. Shea  |  March 4, 2007 at 5:39 pm

    20 til 8 Bishkek time… hope you got a nap in 🙂 it’s a big day today!

    Reply
  • 4. mom2one  |  March 5, 2007 at 3:05 am

    Ohhhh, The Big Day. Wow. Best of luck with today. Can’t wait to hear how everything goes.

    Reply
  • 5. thirdmom  |  March 7, 2007 at 5:49 pm

    The jet lag has to have been brutal!!

    Reply
  • 6. Elizabeth  |  April 5, 2007 at 1:50 pm

    Hi. We are considering Kyrgystan for our second adoption. Our daughter is from China and we would like an Asian boy. I am hoping you might email me and let me know how you feel about your agency and if there are any others you have heard are reliable. Is there anything you would have done differently? Would you ever consider doing the one trip approach? THanks so much, Elizabeth eereid@neo.rr.com

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


I Heart Snarky Librarians

Click this star to find out how you can support Judy/JustEnjoyHim in her fight against breast cancer:
judy
girls are strong
Alltop, confirmation that I kick ass

Blog Stats

  • 96,524 hits
March 2007
M T W T F S S
« Feb   Apr »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
262728293031  

Categories

Feeds

adoption international adoption reform identity first mothers motherhood daughters


