Kyrgyz felt and other handicrafts

April 9, 2007 at 5:27 pm 9 comments

I’m finally getting around to posting some of the beautiful things I was able to purchase while in Kyrgyzstan. We had time in the afternoons to go looking at the Zum shopping area and I would buy all manner of little ornaments. They are truly wonderful to look at. The expressions on the faces and the stitching is very good.
felt-menagerie-1.jpg
We bought a Shyrdak which is a traditional Kyrgyz felt rug. I bought it for the colors as I love oranges and reds not really remembering that I had these pillows. I love how it all looks together.
felt-rug-bedroom.jpg

While the Zum was a fun place to visit and shop, it was nothing compared to the bazaar we visited. I really wanted to go to the Osh bazaar but were literally laughed at when I said this. They said, “you’re American….why would you want our poorly made things?” Anyway, on the way to Tokmok one morning, our coordinator pulled over and said that we were going to this place that had something I’d mentioned I really wanted to find. They had it! A Chekich. It’s a bread stamp for the naan that’s made here. A woman had them for sale in her stall hanging on a string. She had five. I bought them all! I love how they look and I’m glad that I’ll always have it so that I’m able to teach myself to make real Kyrgyz naan.
chekich.jpg

So, those were really my only purchases. For the next trip I want to buy some of the books I saw that depict the countryside of Kyrgyzstan. There are also a lot of silk things to buy, but really I am so drawn to the felt. It is dyed naturally so the colors are soft and earthy.

Entry filed under: International Adoption, Kyrgyzstan, Travel.

Happy Easter! She Grows!

9 Comments Add your own

  • 1. actofkindness  |  April 9, 2007 at 6:52 pm

    Ok for the perfect Nan bread,

    If you have a bread maker and a oven stone (pampered chef)

    Make the basic white bread doe in the maker, but increase the yeast by 1/4 and the sugar by 1 table spoon .
    Preheat the baking stone at 350 than sprinkle 1/2 teaspoon of flax seeds on stone.
    before the bread starts to cook in the maker, take it out and put it on the center of the hot stone, using your hands spread it out to the edges (about 1 foot around) then flip it over and do it again.
    Let it sit on the hot stone for about 10 min out of the oven then . it will rise up in the center. using a standard soup bowl press down the center.
    brush lightly with an egg wash, then put in oven until golden brown.
    take out of oven and right away press the center with your Bread press.

    this is not quite the way they do it, but it will give you the same appearance texture and taste.

    all the best.
    p.s. for photos of the real procedure, your readers can check out my blog.

    Reply
  • 2. Shea  |  April 9, 2007 at 6:52 pm

    I’m so jealous that you found the bread stamps! That was one of the things I had hoped to find! We just about bought out Sappora’s booth… her felted things were just so gorgeous! I did get one silk wall hanging and a tablecloth with silk embroidery… but most everything we got was felt! Did you get slippers? We LOVE ours! Although several pairs didn’t make it home (someone in the baggage check must’ve liked them!).

    Reply
  • 3. imtina  |  April 9, 2007 at 7:04 pm

    Shea,
    Do not despair…I will get you one in May ok? You owe me 30 som….lol!!! JUST KIDDING

    Reply
  • 4. Amira  |  April 10, 2007 at 7:02 am

    I’m glad you found a chekich! Especially in a place where they were easy to find. It looks like they all have one round of spikes around the edge?

    Reply
  • 5. shannylj  |  April 10, 2007 at 9:43 am

    LOVE the rug- looks awesome with those pillows. And I adore all those little ornament thingies. So cute!

    Reply
  • 6. Mom to 2 Angels  |  April 10, 2007 at 1:15 pm

    We loved all the felt things as well, especially the dolls and purses. I thought AP might like those later. I love your rug on the wall it looks great!

    Reply
  • 7. Margie  |  April 10, 2007 at 4:32 pm

    Beautiful, and I love the way the wall hanging and the pillows complement each other.

    I know that sometimes the importance of “things” from our children’s cultures is downplayed as unimportant. My kids, though, have found it important to be able to touch pieces of the country and culture that’s theirs, and it’s helped my husband and me learn about it as well.

    Reply
  • 8. Cindy La Joy  |  April 12, 2007 at 2:25 pm

    Good for you! Believe me, we are a few years down the road from you and Matthew and Josh BOTH treasure their Kazakh items and share them with others when they visit our home. We have used them 2 or 3 times for school explanations, and show and tell. Think to the years ahead, buy things for when she is older…ew got mens’s rings with the traditional Kazakh patterns engraved on them and the boys are really looking forward to the day they are big enough to wear them :- We also bought a ceremonial gift bag for weddings which was beautiful and we were told that wedding gifts place gifts inside of it for the bride and groom.

    But a note of caution that we just discovered yesterday (while emptying a display case for flooring work!! Hahaha! More nesting!)about the felt items…we bought a large felt yurt…one of my favorite pieces…and it is FULL of carpet bettles and is falling apart now 3 years later. We will have to chuck it sadly, so be careful and if you can take the felt stuff to a pest control comapny they may be able to treat it for you so it is not destroyed 🙂

    Cindy

    Reply
  • 9. cabinet refacing san antonio  |  October 3, 2014 at 6:22 am

    Hi, this is kind of like kitchen renovation magic.
    These features are also found with the wholesale kitchen cabinets?
    You need good quality cabinets into modern ones.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


I Heart Snarky Librarians

Click this star to find out how you can support Judy/JustEnjoyHim in her fight against breast cancer:
judy
girls are strong
Alltop, confirmation that I kick ass

Blog Stats

  • 96,524 hits
April 2007
M T W T F S S
« Mar   May »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
30  

Categories

Feeds

adoption international adoption reform identity first mothers motherhood daughters


