Oh No They Ditn’t…

April 26, 2007 at 10:09 pm 11 comments

t-shirt.jpg

Ok, where do I start?  The mind boggles.  I mean, who thought this was actually funny and even decided to put this on a t-shirt?  At urban outfitters, executives probably sat down in a meeting and someone brought in a sample of this shirt and there was probably an easy consensus that they should sell this shirt. 

Now, I love snark as much as the next girl.  I like dry humor and wicked jokes.  Heck, I  even love making fun of Madonna and her keeping up with the Jolie-Pitts.   But this…this…shirt (and I use this word loosely because I don’t think it could be more a more hideous piece of clothing.  Bad font.  Acid yellow??)  This ridiculous shirt is where we are, culturally speaking, when it comes to adoption.  Go ahead, adopt!  You know you want to.  All the cool people are doing it. 

The cool people are doing it.  (No, I’m not talking about myself.)  I keep reading articles about other celebrities considering international adoption.  Jessica Simpson is quoted as having said “I want to adopt, and I plan to adopt before I have my own kids”.  ( “Own kids” We all love that expression don’t we? ) Renee Zellweger and Penelope Cruz are quoted in various articles on their desires to adopt. 

The kids have become things.   New purse, new baby….gotta have it. 

So, the people at urban outfitters didn’t really do anything other than point out what’s  really going on.  It’s bad.  It’s a really, really bad shirt.

Entry filed under: adopting, Adoption, Adoption Ethics, celebrities, International Adoption.

Spring Has Sprung At Risk Children In Kyrgyzstan

11 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Tiffanni  |  April 27, 2007 at 9:23 am

    Ugh..I think I just threw up in my mouth a little.

    Reply
  • 2. shannylj  |  April 27, 2007 at 9:42 am

    Unbelievable. Well, looks like I’ll be writing a nasty email today.

    Reply
  • 3. Lori  |  April 27, 2007 at 10:38 am

    Wow! Bad, bad, bad… and sad.

    Reply
  • 4. imhelendt  |  April 27, 2007 at 11:19 am

    THey’re not mocking you, Tina. We all know they’re talking about Madonna. 😉

    Reply
  • 5. everydaymiracle  |  April 27, 2007 at 12:01 pm

    This makes me furious and sick. I don’t know what is wrong with these people.

    Sherri

    Reply
  • 6. mom2one  |  April 27, 2007 at 2:58 pm

    It’s an AWFUL shirt!!

    Reply
  • 7. Margie  |  April 27, 2007 at 5:28 pm

    Almost unbelievable, but I know the minute I say that something worse will come along.

    Thank you for posting this – I think spreading the word helped, because if you check the link now it says”

    “We regret that this item is not available at this time.”

    It shouldn’t have been available in the first place, and Urban Outfitters won’t be getting any of my dollars anymore. But I’ll take the fact that it’s gone anyway.

    Reply
  • 8. Shea  |  April 27, 2007 at 5:28 pm

    I heard about this on the Holt boards… it really is in poor taste (not to mention ugly).

    Reply
  • 9. Cindy La Joy  |  April 30, 2007 at 8:17 am

    Boy, nothing ceases to amaze me anymore.

    Reply
  • 10. Paula O.  |  May 1, 2007 at 3:44 pm

    Yes, the shirt is tacky (not to mention highly unattractive), but unfortunately, there are so many more offensive and hurtful adoption-logo shirts out there. I hope people will join the crusade against those, too.

    Reply
  • 11. Bethany  |  October 1, 2007 at 9:16 am

    Makes my skin crawl, ick.

    I’m a fellow adoptee and adoptive mom from Russia. I just came across your blog from the Kyrgz boards. Can’t wait to read more of your blog!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


I Heart Snarky Librarians

Click this star to find out how you can support Judy/JustEnjoyHim in her fight against breast cancer:
judy
girls are strong
Alltop, confirmation that I kick ass

Blog Stats

  • 96,948 hits
April 2007
M T W T F S S
« Mar   May »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
30  

Categories

Feeds

adoption international adoption reform identity first mothers motherhood daughters


