Baby Bottles & My New Blog

May 6, 2007 at 4:56 pm 18 comments

baby-bottle.jpgLess than two weeks before I go back to get our girl!  In preperation of her arrival I found myself at Target, in the baby care section and going through everything with a fine-tooth comb.  I had this nagging worry as I was looking at the teething rings and other plastic things for babies.  “Aren’t there some concerns with plastics and baby bottles?”  It kept going through my head.  I hadn’t purchased bottles with Zannie and it was all unfamiliar territory.  So, I went home and googled my tush off.  The more I read, the more I needed to keep reading.  I tried finding a simple, easy to read list of products that are safe for babies and children.  It didn’t seem like a big thing to ask for, considering the concerns over PVC and other toxins in plastics have persisted.  So, since I couldn’t find a list, I decided that I had to blog about it.  So, go check out my other blog, Plastics?  It can be found at  www.pvcfree.wordpress.com

I’m going to be writing about the products I find that are free of toxins that are shown to be linked to serious health issues.  I’m going to be writing about it as it unfolds and as I go to stores and see what is marked pvc-free.  Also, I very much want the blog to be for everyone and for others to contribute.  Guest blogging there will definitely happen.  So.  There it is.  I’m looking forward to receiving lots of your comments and input there. 

Entry filed under: Children, Motherhood.

Topic: Diapers.Cloth.Discuss. Big Sister

18 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Jamie  |  May 6, 2007 at 5:31 pm

    Sigg makes some great reusable bottles for adults and children. I’m not aware of them making anything for babies, but you should check them out. This is their site: http://www.sigg.ch/

    And here is where you can purchase them: http://www.reusablebags.com/store/reusable-bottles-sigg-bottles-c-19_33.html

    Reply
  • 2. imhelendt  |  May 6, 2007 at 6:17 pm

    I used a lot of glass bottles. I finally got rid of them all when we moved. One of the formulas used to come in glass bottles. You can screw any nipple it. They’re great for on the go. I used to have to supplement with son #1. I think it was Similac brand.

    Reply
  • 3. imhelendt  |  May 6, 2007 at 6:19 pm

    Yep they still make it. Similac on the go- 4-fl-oz glass bottles; 6 per carton; No. 57716

    Reply
  • 4. imtina  |  May 6, 2007 at 6:21 pm

    Oh right…I have seen those! Helen, you KNOW I’m going to have you be a guest blogger on Plastics? You MUST.

    Reply
  • 5. Michelle  |  May 6, 2007 at 8:55 pm

    What about breastfeeding after adoption Tina? I know there is at least one blog on it and several books.

    Reply
  • 6. Michelle  |  May 6, 2007 at 8:57 pm

    Although I did exclusively breastfeed my daughter for a ridiculously long time – I never looked into breastfeeding after adoption…so maybe it is just pumping and feeding with a bottle – I don’t know.

    Reply
  • 7. artsweet  |  May 6, 2007 at 9:12 pm

    This blog had a whole series of posts on this very topic. I’m just linking to the first one.

    http://leerypolyp.blogs.com/the_leery_polyp/2006/05/weve_replaced_p.html

    Reply
  • 8. safe Plastic  |  May 7, 2007 at 4:25 am

    http://www.newbornfree.com

    Safe Bisphenol-A Free Plastic bottles

    Reply
  • 9. Shea  |  May 7, 2007 at 5:26 am

    Michelle… there is a whole movement of bfing adopted children. There is a woman in the local LLL doing it. Most of them start by taking some sort of hormone/drug to jump start milk production then use a tube taped to the nipple (more or less) so that the baby stimulates milk production by suckling. Some mamas never produce appreciable milk and just use the tube with formula others actually get a decent supply going. One mama I talked to that does it said she didn’t feel like she was bonding to the baby without bfing so I guess it’s just personal preference.

    Reply
  • 10. imtina  |  May 7, 2007 at 6:57 am

    I did consider b/f Isabel. She will be 8 months old and I wonder about latching on. I will read more about it though as it would be nice.

    Reply
  • 11. imhelendt  |  May 7, 2007 at 7:17 am

    Tina- Breastfeeding is hard in the first place. Starting an 8 month old when many of them are starting to wean is a nightmare. You could pump but I don’t think it’s worth it. It’s a whole bunch of headache you don’t need. In fact, at 8 months you should be starting to introduce a sippy cup.

    Reply
  • 12. imtina  |  May 7, 2007 at 9:05 am

    Isabel is delayed and she won’t be able to do a sippy for awhile. She’ll be more at a 5-6 month developmental age in most ways. She’s definitely not sitting up.
    I’m not going to take the hormones and pump and do all of that to breastfeed. I did consider doing the SNS feeding system, the one with the tubes, but I just don’t think it will work. What I think is more important in adoption is bonding during feeding and that can happen very nicely with a bottle.

    Reply
  • 13. Sharon Allison  |  May 8, 2007 at 3:11 pm

    How exciting!!! Our 19 yr. old daughter will be spending the summer in KYrgyzstan working at an orphanage that her roommates parents just acquired. Since you’ve been in that part of the world, any suggestions on what to take for the kids? They are 2-16. Also, what about spending money? How much Som should she take before she leaves in 2 weeks? she will be there for 2.5 months. Thanks for any suggestions you might have.

    Reply
  • 14. imhelendt  |  May 8, 2007 at 3:24 pm

    Tina- Uh, I don’t think bonding will be a problem, it sounds like you already did that. 😉

    Reply
  • 15. thirdmom  |  May 8, 2007 at 4:31 pm

    Tina, less than two weeks – awesome news!

    The new blog is a great idea. Do you know about Marie Lee’s blog Green Fertility? You may want to check it out, as she often covers similar topics.

    Reply
  • 16. imtina  |  May 9, 2007 at 7:53 am

    Oh…goody Margie…thanks for the link.
    Tina

    Reply
  • 17. Jamie  |  May 9, 2007 at 4:22 pm

    Sharon, your daughter doesn’t need to take any som at all with her. There are plenty of safe and reliable exchange places in Bishkek with good exchange rates (or as good as they’ll get). How much spending money depends on what she needs it for and what city she’ll stay in. She can eat at a local cafe for a $1-$2 and fill up just fine. If she plans on eating at the expensive restaurants that only foreigners or business people eat at for a treat, then she can easily spend $5-$10 on a full meal. That should give you an idea of prices. Only Bishkek could one person spend $10 on a meal, not in Karakol or in Osh or any other city in the country as I don’t think they have any restaurants that expensive. As far as things for the children, let her buy soccer balls and such once she gets in the country. If she really wants to share something from her culture, she should just bring some chocolate chips and bake chocolate chip cookies once she gets there. The other thing would be children’s vitamins. She can buy soccer balls and such upon arrival, which is an item that they can all share and won’t take up any space in her luggage. Maybe bringing some fun things from a scrap-booking store would be good. Students always carry around their notebooks and want people to write their “wishes” in them. I’ve had a lot of fun cutting up old magazines with teenage girls and dressing their notebooks up with stickers. This is cheap, easy to pass around, and a group project that immediately translates to their culture. I’ll be in Bishkek all summer if she needs anything or just wants to hang out at some point. Sometimes (not often, but occasionally) its good to have an American friend to turn to when you are dealing with culture shock. The first time I lived in Kyrgyzstan I was nineteen and so might share some similar experiences. Either you or your daughter can email me if you like.

    Reply
  • 18. Jamie  |  May 9, 2007 at 4:24 pm

    Oops! My apologies! I didn’t realize how long that last comment was. Please forgive my lengthy post.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


I Heart Snarky Librarians

Click this star to find out how you can support Judy/JustEnjoyHim in her fight against breast cancer:
judy
girls are strong
Alltop, confirmation that I kick ass

Blog Stats

  • 97,024 hits
May 2007
M T W T F S S
« Apr   Jun »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
28293031  

Categories

Feeds

adoption international adoption reform identity first mothers motherhood daughters


