The Ending…The Beginning

May 16, 2007 at 10:31 pm 19 comments

It’s here.  There are no more weeks or months of waiting.  I’ll be flying to Kyrgyzstan on Saturday and I’ll be seeing our Isabel in a matter of days.  I can hardly believe I’m saying that! 

The last month has been quite a whirlwind of gathering final documents and visas, books to read, travel baby bath that folds (!) soft and comfy baby clothes, and finding room to put it all in the suitcase. 

I had told myself that I didn’t need a haircut or any new clothes for this trip but then today I had a little freakout and begged a haircut from my hairdresser.  This after buying a pair of travel pants.  To me, travel pants are a color that hides smudges, are not uncomfortable in any way, and if they are cute then all the better.  Apparantly it’s pretty warm in Bishkek this spring and so I’m trying to pack for that. 

M. is traveling with me and husband and Zannie are staying behind as they can’t miss any more work or school.  Zannie has never been away from me this long and I’m worried about how she’s going to fare after about day 3.  I’ve lined up a staggering string of play dates to keep her distracted.  At least I have Skype and can call home for next to nothing. 

I keep thinking about how I have been consumed with all things concerning Isabel and Kyrgyzstan since August of last year.  Now, our family is on the edge of beginning a new and exciting chapter. 

I’m excited to be making a personal connection with another family adopting from Bishkek.  The moderator of our Yahoo Kyrgyz adoption group will be there at the same time and so we are going to break naan together with her three boys, the newest of which is an 8 year-old boy who has the best smile I’ve ever seen.  You can check her blog out on my blogroll under LaJoy family blog. 

Plus, I have a very special delivery for a boy we fell in love with at Isabel’s orphanage.  Mala, who will be adopting this darling boy has made him a quilt and I’m going to bring it to him and tell him it’s from his new mama and that she’ll be there soon to give him lots of kisses.  She thoughtfully put it in a space bag and so it’s incredibly small and flat and will probably pop out of the bag like one of those fake can of peanuts that really has a springy, streamer thing in it.  Our little Kyrgyz adoption community is one I’m proud to be a part of.  We really take care of each other in many ways.  We help each other through the maze of paperwork and give recommendations on hotels and travel advice.  But, the most important things we do for each other are checking in on the kids when one of us is over there.  Michelle just took some pictures for other soon-to-be parents.  Shanny brought over something for Michelle…and on it goes.  It does my heart a world of good. 

I can’t believe it’s here.  It’s the end of the adoption, but a real beginning for us as a famly of four.  Isabel has already lost so much in her short life, and we can only hope that we are worthy of being her new family. 

So, off I go.  I will post from Bishkek. 

Entry filed under: Adoption, International Adoption, Isabel, Kyrgyzstan, Motherhood, Travel, Zannie.

Big Sister Long Journey Home

19 Comments Add your own

  • 1. shannylj  |  May 16, 2007 at 10:45 pm

    I am so excited for you I’m about to burst!!! Thank you so much for letting us follow along.

    Reply
  • 2. Lara  |  May 17, 2007 at 6:55 am

    So excited for you, hope you have a good journey

    Reply
  • 3. Sandra Hanks Benoiton  |  May 17, 2007 at 7:22 am

    Just found your blog and had to wish you a great trip! I have two children adopted from Cambodia and know how exciting this will be. NOTHING compares. Take loads of photos and write everything down, as things can blur, although you will remember the big moments for the rest of your life.
    Travel safely and congratulations.

    Reply
  • 4. Cindy  |  May 17, 2007 at 2:46 pm

    Can’t wait to see you too Tina! Assuming our stinking passports get here in time with the visas…

    It will be wonderful to share a meal and this special time in our lives together 🙂

    Cindy

    Reply
  • 5. Jackie  |  May 17, 2007 at 5:01 pm

    This is so exciting and I can’t wait to hear (and see) all about your trip. Isabel is so very lucky to be joining your family. And I know you feel lucky, too.

    That is so awesome that you and Cindy will connect…yayy!

    Congrats to you all and have a safe journey.

    Reply
  • 6. Mala  |  May 17, 2007 at 7:09 pm

    Have a wonderful trip! I’m so excited for you! Thank you for bringing Beck our little gift. Please give him a big hug from us!
    Now go get your little girl!

    Reply
  • 7. Andrea (Mom to 2 angels)  |  May 17, 2007 at 7:28 pm

    Yay! Go get your girl. It is such an exciting time. I miss Bishkek, it is a special place. As far as travel pants, I occupied myself for a week trying to find the right comfy, black, wrinkle-free travel pants. They became my uniform while there. There is a lot to be said for travel pants. Have fun!

    Reply
  • 8. Michelle  |  May 18, 2007 at 2:00 pm

    hooray! that’s all the energy I have left!

    Reply
  • 9. Cindy  |  May 19, 2007 at 8:15 am

    Big Ol’ Jet Airliner…Don’t Carry Me Too Far Away!!!! And off we go, Girl!!!!!!

    Reply
  • 10. Mala  |  May 21, 2007 at 6:05 pm

    are you there yet? are you there yet? I’m going to wear out your blog. I keep checkin’ in for updates! Hope your trip is going well.
    We’re thinkin’ of you!

    Reply
  • 11. Michelle  |  May 22, 2007 at 2:20 am

    mala – I am totally checking every hour too! We need a support group…mabye a disney cruise support group. i totally checked out your 15 day cruise I am soooooo jealous!

    Reply
  • 12. Louise  |  May 22, 2007 at 10:07 am

    What a wonderful adoption community!

    You must be there now…wishing you all the best,

    Reply
  • 13. Andrea (Mom to 2 angels)  |  May 22, 2007 at 1:46 pm

    O Tina, where are you? Probably holding Isabel and not caring a thing about your old blogger pals 🙂

    Reply
  • 14. Mala  |  May 22, 2007 at 5:37 pm

    Tina, Tina, where art thou Tina! Your fan club awaits word!
    I know, I know you’re probably mismerized by that beautiful baby’s face. But just type a quick “I’m OK” message!

    Reply
  • 15. justenjoyhim  |  May 23, 2007 at 4:00 am

    AWESOME!! 😀

    Reply
  • 16. Mala  |  May 23, 2007 at 5:36 pm

    I got a message from Tina!! WHEW!! She’s doing well but has some e-mail issues. I feel better now!

    Reply
  • 17. imtina  |  May 24, 2007 at 8:36 am

    Oh dear!! I had no idea I was causing such problems!!I’m here…all is well. Pictures coming.

    Reply
  • 18. imhelendt  |  May 24, 2007 at 9:00 am

    I’m beating you with a wet noodle. Perhaps a fruit roll up. Those hurt. ;D

    Reply
  • 19. imhelendt  |  May 28, 2007 at 9:39 am

    I’m serious I’m going to kill you! No word or anything?!?!?! I’d stalk the hell out of you on your cell, except I know it won’t work over there. You are in BIG BIG trouble! 😛

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


I Heart Snarky Librarians

Click this star to find out how you can support Judy/JustEnjoyHim in her fight against breast cancer:
judy
girls are strong
Alltop, confirmation that I kick ass

Blog Stats

  • 96,524 hits
May 2007
M T W T F S S
« Apr   Jun »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
28293031  

Categories

Feeds

adoption international adoption reform identity first mothers motherhood daughters


