Ok, so I’ve been a little busy

October 17, 2007 at 11:30 pm 5 comments

I know I’ve been really MIA.  I’ve been hearing from a lot of you.   it’s just been a number of things hitting me from all sides that has kept me in my Chinese Acrobat Mode.  You know those amazing people who can balance on a ten foot unicycle and go all over the stage while keeping 10 plates spinning on these tall sticks?  Lately, that’s me.  And not so much with the amazing quality. 

Please pardon me while I whine a bit.  SO many other people are facing much harder and more painful battles in their lives but right now it’s me and my blog and so I get my moment in my own backyard.   

Nothing too earth-shattering either.  Just a lot of ‘life laundry’ piling up.  Isabel is doing so, so well.  What she is starting is her occupational and physical therapy and that has us in lots of appointments.  Isabel qualifies for the California State ‘Early Start’ program because of typical delays that a child has due to her first months being in the hospital and the orphanage.  When we brought Isabel home, she couldn’t really use her legs or move them much and she was only 12 pounds.  Her language development (for her age this means noises, babbling, etc.) is very delayed and in the report they mention that their concerns ‘go beyond what would be expected for an institutional setting ‘ Gulp.  So, with these issues, she totally qualifies for this amazing program that recognizes that early intervention for babies and children make all the difference.  Early Start has given me a whole “Izzy Pit Crew”  We have therapists out the wazoo.  And they all LOVE her.  I’m not making it up and they’re not saying it to be nice.  They worship her and love her like she’s their daughter.  They bring her toys and hug her and they reassure me and yeah…they LOVE HER.  Plus, all they do is tell me how amazing she is and that she’s going to be fine.  So, we heart Izzy’s pit crew.  Also, it’s like magic what these people do.  They come over and play with her..and then later that day, Isabel will do something she’s never done before.  These people go and get Master’s degrees to learn how to play with babies.  How awesome is that?  Ok, I’m downplaying how talented they are.  Also, after they go, Isabel takes marathon naps, and we all benefit from that.  In the last 6 weeks, Isabel has learned to crawl, master the pincer grasp, feed herself, rotate her trunk, say “mama”, open her mouth if we ask her if she wants ‘more’ to eat, and now she is pulling herself up and cruising and even sometimes standing.  She’s got wobbly Elvis hips when she does it, but she’s standing.  And then she comes crashing down on her diaper and is smiling through it all.  I love that girl.  Oh!  Also…she’s one! 

So, onto other things.  There has been some stuff that has been worrysome in the husband and Zannie department.  I don’t have permission to discuss here.  They are fine, but it’s been a period of some worry and turbulence.  We are coming through it all.  That’s all I can say for now. 

News with me…some good stuff acutally.  Lots of cooking stuff.  I took first place in our local ‘Harvest Festival’ apple pie contest.  There were 20 pies there and I won.  Also, I’ve been doing some freelance recipe writing and that has been great too. 

One thing that has been a big and positive change has been some changes I’ve instituted in our diet.  I did blog earlier, while we were waiting for Isabel  (while all I did was read and write in my blog) that I packed on a few lbs. and I also blogged about how it was all the girl scouts’ fault for making those cookies so damned good.  Anyway, I was feeling so overwhelmed with dr appointments that I started power walking.  Pretty quickly I had lost all of my Thin Mint weight and then I just kept going.  I kept making changes, one by one.  No more white rice, only brown.  Same with bread.  No white sugar.  So, I just kept on swapping out stuff for new, good stuff.  We are eating whole grains, local produce, and a lot of vegetarian dinners.  My weight loss is in the double digits and I’m feeling great and wearing my skinny jeans.  It’s my little corner of perceived control, you know?   With every small dietary change, I’ve received more energy and a bit of peace.  Every time I take an invigorating walk, I own a bit more of calm.  I am feeling really good about all of this.  I feel so good about feeding my family with wholesome, warming and nourishing food.  I’ll stop before I start sounding like a Tofu freak, which I am not. 

So, there it all is.  Except the stuff that’s not there.  My house is messy and sometimes we’re scattered and frantic, but you know…it’s all good.  I love my family.  I’m so flipping lucky that I really don’t have a right to complain in any way.  But I’m human.  To anyone reading this and to everyone who emailed me asking me how we are…..thank you.  We are good. 

Entry filed under: Adoption, Children, cooking, Daughters, diet, Family, International Adoption, Motherhood, Parenting, support, Zannie.

Reunion Is Good. Reunion Is Heartbreaking. Both Are True. Apple pie Contest

5 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Andrea  |  October 18, 2007 at 4:43 am

    So glad you guys are well. I have considered many times cutting out the “white” foods, and we kind of halfway did, but it’s sooo hard. You go girl. It sounds like Izzy is making great progress. Congrats on the weight loss.

    Reply
  • 2. Jackie  |  October 18, 2007 at 5:10 am

    I’m so happy to hear Isabel is making wonderful progress. And Happy Birthday 1st, Izzy!!! (just love that nickname 🙂

    Congrats on the healthy eating changes!! I love power walking…it’s a nice mental escape, isn’t it?

    Reply
  • 3. Michelle  |  October 20, 2007 at 9:03 am

    I want to be on the Tina Pit Crew…..go TINA!!!!!!!

    Reply
  • 4. Mala  |  October 22, 2007 at 5:38 pm

    Yay!!! For Tina!!! Yay for Izzy!!!!

    (ok, where’s the super cute pictures of that cruisin’ girl?!)

    Reply
  • 5. Margie  |  October 24, 2007 at 1:20 pm

    Hey, there! I’ve been MIA too, and miss everyone.

    It sounds like your plate has been full full full. I hope whatever challenges have been facing you will be resolved soon. And I congratulate you on all the positives – on Isabel’s progress, on losing weigh (oh I so wish I could motivate myself!), and on winning the pie contest. See, my first thought when I read that was that I would love a piece of pie right about now – not really the right frame of mind for diet mode!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


I Heart Snarky Librarians

Click this star to find out how you can support Judy/JustEnjoyHim in her fight against breast cancer:
judy
girls are strong
Alltop, confirmation that I kick ass

Blog Stats

  • 96,520 hits
October 2007
M T W T F S S
« Aug   Nov »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
293031  

Categories

Feeds

adoption international adoption reform identity first mothers motherhood daughters


