I just had to state for the record

November 4, 2007 at 11:43 pm 8 comments

scientology.gif 

Husband let me know something really strange, and after looking quickly at it all, it’s pretty funny too.  Then, I got alarmed.  I mean, if you know me IRL, then you won’t worry.  But, my online peeps needed to know for sure.  So, just so it’s in black and white…

I AM NOT, NOR HAVE I EVER BEEN, NOR WILL I EVER BE; A SCIENTOLOGIST.

Deep breath.  Cleansing breath.  Yes, they would probably say that I need to be ‘cleared’.  But I digress.  Let me back up.

Husband googled me – my name.  We have a pretty unusual last name and ‘Tina’ isn’t uncommon, but it’s not Barbara or Mary either.  So, imagine my surprise when googling my name brought up someone with my exact, same name who is a cleared, Scientologist.  I don’t really know what ‘cleared’ means, but I know that Scientologists engage in it. 

To me, getting cleared involves a local beach, an amazing salad, laughing with my family or even a quiet moment with a glass of Chardonnay.  When I think about Scientology, I think about Tom Cruise and how he brainwashed introduced Katie Holmes into it.   I think about how it uses celebrity names for promotion.  It seems secretive, hungry for money and abusive because it seems to encourage keeping members away from those who are not members.  Can you say CULT? 

Ok, this is way off topic, I realize.  I just wanted to put it out there.  If you know my whole name, go ahead.  Google it.  But, I promise it’s not me.  K?

Entry filed under: Adoption, celebrities, Children, cooking, Daughters, diet, Family, foodie, Friends, Motherhood, Parenting, support.

Apple pie Contest Monday with my girls

8 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Michelle  |  November 5, 2007 at 7:58 am

    Oh well, I thought that was you and I was using you as an entreee for my Z into hollywood movies……nevermind about the disney cruise. haha. I googled myself and I am a very accomplished cross country runner (oh the irony there). I almost missed a flight to hawaii because I couldn’t force myself to run through the airport!

    Reply
  • 2. Michelle  |  November 5, 2007 at 7:58 am

    That post actually makes it sound like we were going to eat you as the main course and that is obviously not what I meant!

    Reply
  • 3. imtina  |  November 5, 2007 at 12:56 pm

    It’s ok…I totally knew what you meant!

    Reply
  • 4. Margie  |  November 5, 2007 at 1:23 pm

    Holy crap, it’s true! Wow!

    Reply
  • 5. Andrea  |  November 5, 2007 at 6:35 pm

    Too funny! I think Scientology is strange, as well. I think being “cleared” actually involves aliens at some point. Poor Katie!

    Reply
  • 6. justenjoyhim  |  November 6, 2007 at 11:28 am

    Are you SURE? I mean, maybe you’re just saying that to get us all to become Scientologists. You people ARE pretty sneaky!

    Reply
  • 7. Jen  |  November 8, 2007 at 1:38 pm

    Sorry, just jumped over from Judi’s blog and I noticed you were impressed with my Venti of snark. I’ll take it as a complement. As for Scientology; “cleared” means that their souls (or whatever) have been cleared of all the bad spirits (yes, aliens) that had been attached to them. No, I’m not a Scientologist, I just play one on TV.

    Reply
  • 8. reunionwritings  |  November 19, 2007 at 1:10 am

    Wonderful photos.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


I Heart Snarky Librarians

Click this star to find out how you can support Judy/JustEnjoyHim in her fight against breast cancer:
judy
girls are strong
Alltop, confirmation that I kick ass

Blog Stats

  • 96,361 hits
November 2007
M T W T F S S
« Oct   Dec »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
2627282930  

Categories

Feeds

adoption international adoption reform identity first mothers motherhood daughters


