An Assignment

December 28, 2007 at 10:31 am 1 comment

, AKA mama to Roo has an interesting challenge to counteract all the blogging nastiness that’s happened around here lately. Write about something nice. And it can’t be about adoption. No problem.

chicken.jpg

CHICKEN MARBELLA
Let’s talk food – a subject near and dear to my heart. I cooked my behind off the last two weeks or so. We hosted two dinner parties and a few drop-in situations. Zannie and her friends had a cookie decorating party and I taught her how to make Russian Tea Cakes. When deciding what to make or not to make, I came up with decidedly do-ahead menus. Chicken Marbella for one dinner (A GREAT dinner party dish) and Beef Short Ribs with an Asian broth over mashers for the other. Instead of making a complicated dessert, I served cookies and See’s candies. I made my life easier and had only a couple of freak-outs instead of many. One good thing about having company over a lot is that your house stays clean. Toys were put away often and dishes were washed immediately. I loved it.

Another great thing about this Christmas was getting books that I am excited to read. I’ve recently become really interested in Frida Kahlo, the Mexican artist after I watched the movie about her life which starred Selma Hayek. So, I got her biography and I’m devouring it. I received ‘Super Natural Cooking’ from my family to give me new and creative ideas for our new way of eating. It’s a good read aside from the beautiful pictures and recipes.

The last good thing about the holidays is that there is an end. Today I am putting the decorations away. I am always very happy to put them out and getting into the Christmas mood and I am usually equally happy and ready to put them away. That’s how I’m feeling today. Zannie is really getting into the swing of things and has even been cleaning things by her own initiative. (I swear I don’t know how this has happened.)

On Sunday, we’ll trek over the Sierra Mountains to grandma’s house to do a bit of frolicking in the snow and to get away for a couple of days. Come early January, Zannie will be back in school and then I’ll have to think of a new Big Project. Maybe putting all our pictures in albums is a good idea. I’m totally behind on that. Ideas are accepted…anyone??

Entry filed under: Adoption, Adoption Blog, baking, Children, cooking, Daughters, diet, Family, foodie, Friends, Parenting.

These Two Are My World Up For Consideration

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. M.  |  December 28, 2007 at 12:11 pm

    Thanks for playing! Sounds like you guys have been having fun. YOur girls are gorgeous, by the way! šŸ™‚

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


I Heart Snarky Librarians

Click this star to find out how you can support Judy/JustEnjoyHim in her fight against breast cancer:
judy
girls are strong
Alltop, confirmation that I kick ass

Blog Stats

  • 96,524 hits
December 2007
M T W T F S S
« Nov   Jan »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
31  

Categories

Feeds

adoption international adoption reform identity first mothers motherhood daughters


