Kyrgyz Felt

January 23, 2008 at 10:25 am 14 comments

 felt.jpg

I’m excited to have been contacted by April who runs the Volga River Trading Company.  She wanted me to know that she imports the beautiful and vibrant felt shyrdaks, toys and other items made in Kyrgyzstan.  On the site it says:

Volga River Trading Company strives to bring products that we consider to be of outstanding quality, value, and interest to the attention of American buyers. At the same time we support the work of talented Russian artisans from the former Soviet republics, giving them the tools they need to survive in a market economy.

I fell in love with the handmade felt animals and ornaments while in Kyrgyzstan.  I was shown how the felt is hand-dyed naturally using flowers and herbs. Please support this shop and think of it as a resource for our children from Kyrgyzstan. The artisans in Kyrgyzstan put so much work into these beautiful items and I’m so happy to showcase it here.  Please go to: www.volgarivertrading.com

Entry filed under: Adoption, Adoption Blog, International Adoption, Isabel, Kyrgyzstan, Motherhood, Travel.

One Hot Mama! Does this make me look Phat?

14 Comments Add your own

  • 1. maryam in marrakesh  |  January 24, 2008 at 10:45 pm

    Hi Tina!
    I am in Kyrgyzstan on a consultancy. What an interesting place! I have bought some darling felt things here. I also checked out Volga Trading but they don’t have prices on their website.

    Warm wishes from cold Bishkek,
    Maryam

    Reply
  • 2. Shea  |  January 25, 2008 at 7:30 am

    Thanks for posting this link. I totally fell in love with the felted ornaments and things (remember my big suitcase full of rugs?) but I never did get to go back to get the little brightly colored bird ornaments that I so adored! Thanks!

    Reply
  • 3. imtina  |  January 25, 2008 at 8:56 am

    Shea,

    I loved the little birdies too. (and the camels, horses, goats, etc.)
    I was so excited when she emailed me. I want more rugs!

    Tina

    Reply
  • 4. Suzanne  |  January 25, 2008 at 9:58 pm

    So what y’all are saying is I should bring an extra suitcase on my trips.

    Reply
  • 5. imtina  |  January 25, 2008 at 10:25 pm

    Um…yes. It’s fun to go to Zum and explore. Also, I think I remember orange things.

    Reply
  • 6. Shea  |  January 26, 2008 at 5:38 am

    Tina, did you get Sappora’s contact info? She gave it to me, but of course I can’t find it now! Frustrating!! Dima’s offered to go by and get it again for me, but I thought I’d ask you first.

    Reply
  • 7. imtina  |  January 26, 2008 at 7:30 am

    No, I didn’t think to do that. I wish I had!

    Good thing there are so many adopting families this year and we can ask for help. Also, I have some extra birdies if you’re interested…let me know.

    Tina

    Reply
  • 8. Jackie  |  January 26, 2008 at 7:40 am

    Thanks for this link. Love the stuff. I picked up several things during trip 1, but feel I want more. Did you say have some extra birdies?? I’m interested 🙂

    Jackie

    Reply
  • 9. imtina  |  January 26, 2008 at 7:52 am

    Ok girls…let me go and find everything and I’ll inventory what I have and let you know.

    Reply
  • 10. Maria  |  February 19, 2008 at 9:08 am

    I’m so glad to find this link. I’ve emailed for a price list. When we travel to Kyrgyzstan, I want to pick up lots of this for Ellie to have. It’s so BEAUTIFUL. We are collecting “Ellie”phants for her and I saw several that I’d love to add to her collection!

    Reply
  • 11. nancy walters  |  December 14, 2008 at 11:38 pm

    Thanks for providing information and prices of different variety of shopping product. I need this info because i am using online shopping services.
    Thanks

    Reply
  • 12. Lisa  |  December 15, 2008 at 10:37 pm

    wow what a nice post about rugs and retail information.
    Its a very needed information because i need to buy variety of rugs.
    Lisa

    Reply
  • 13. anna michel  |  December 17, 2008 at 3:42 am

    It a nice site collecting all info about rugs.
    I use to buy these rugs and i need this information.
    Thanks for your time to post this article.

    Reply
  • 14. Sharla  |  December 1, 2009 at 6:56 am

    My husband and I just opened a handicrafts export business based in Kyrgyzstan! We live here and work directly with all kinds of different handicrafters. I tried visiting the Volga River site but it seems it has be discontinued. Anyone interested in making a large order of items to have on stock and try to sell either online or through connections like this on a blog?

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


I Heart Snarky Librarians

Click this star to find out how you can support Judy/JustEnjoyHim in her fight against breast cancer:
judy
girls are strong
Alltop, confirmation that I kick ass

Blog Stats

  • 96,703 hits
January 2008
M T W T F S S
« Dec   Mar »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
28293031  

Categories

Feeds

adoption international adoption reform identity first mothers motherhood daughters


