Suzannah, Crazy Hair Day and Sojourner Truth

March 10, 2008 at 8:48 pm 8 comments

Zannie doesn’t get much play on this blog, so I plan on giving her the spotlight for a bit.  She’s an amazing child and my pride knows no boundaries.  So, here’s kind of a news roundup of her recent, busy life. 

Latest Insightful Comment:

Isabel is like a magazine – every time you turn a page, you never know what you’re going to get

(I just LOVE that)

Crazy Hair Day

Once a year at her school, they have Crazy Hair Day.  I suppose it’s a school spirit thing.  Anyway, most of the younger grades really get into it, even the boys.  Being fabulous and naturally game, Suzannah was all for it.  She said, “Can I dye my hair mama?”  I remembered that just a few days earlier I had seen this:

color-pulse1.jpg

…a ‘temporary color mousse’.  It said that it would wash out in 2-3 shampoos, so I said, “Sure”  It sounded like fun.  It WAS!  Check it –

zannie-hair-dye.jpg

While Hair Was Being Transformed And…

zannie-hair-dye-2.jpg

The Morning of Crazy Hair Day With 8 Bright Pink/Red Pony Tails

She was a big hit in and amongst all the green-haired boys with crazy spikes and the other girls who had other kinds of hair paraphernalia.  What is really funny though…there still are streaks of pink in her hair.  When they said 2-3 shampoos, they should have said 2-3 MONTHS. 

The other very great and cool thing Zannie has done recently is a class production of a play based on the life of Sojourner Truth in honor of Black History Month.  Two First grade classes combined together for the play and they worked for 4 weeks on it.  We came to see her on stage and we knew she would be really putting her all into it, but we had no idea the level of elementary school professionalism she possessed.  She played the part of Sojourner Truth’s mother, Betsey and she was good.  But, she was also narrator in the play and it was there that I kind of went all jell-o and verklempt.  She just walked up to the front, held the microphone, and didn’t read from the pages, didn’t sound like a computer or spit out some memorized words.  She was the storyteller.  She had inflection.  She had pathos.  Now, it wasn’t like she’d just graduated from acting school, but it really was something to hear.  Parents were turning around and looking at me with big smiles and all I could do was just smile back.  Afterwards, I swung her around and told her how proud I was of her.  This was the same week that report cards came out and she is doing great and so she ordered up her favorite dinner at home, complete with ice cream sundaes.  Here’s our little actress…

zannie-as-betsy.jpg

On Stage – In Character

So that’s the news here in Lake Wobegon, where the Men are good-looking, the women are strong, and the children are WAYYY above average.

Entry filed under: Children, Daughters, Family, Isabel, Motherhood, Parenting, Zannie.

Happy Hearts, Isabel & The Supermodel Early Intervention & Izzy’s Pit Crew

8 Comments Add your own

  • 1. imhelendt  |  March 11, 2008 at 7:54 pm

    I hear the women over there are sassy too. ;D

    Reply
  • 2. Andrea  |  March 12, 2008 at 4:23 am

    Cool hair! She’s lucky to have such a cool mom 🙂

    Reply
  • 3. Suzanne  |  March 12, 2008 at 9:54 am

    And I like the subtle pink highlights that were still noticeable last weekend. They worked very well with her skin tone.

    -Suzanne

    Reply
  • 4. imtina  |  March 12, 2008 at 12:59 pm

    Helen,

    you KNOW they’re sassy here….

    Reply
  • 5. reunionwritings  |  March 14, 2008 at 1:09 am

    What a cutie!

    Reply
  • 6. Tina  |  March 14, 2008 at 7:57 am

    Awww…thanks Kim. I’m crazy about her and I can’t help but think she’s a total cutie too.

    Reply
  • 7. Jackie  |  March 15, 2008 at 6:01 am

    I’m not sure how I missed these recent posts. What a fun school event…I remember nothing like that in my youth 😉

    Snazzy color!!

    Reply
  • 8. Mindy  |  April 23, 2009 at 1:24 pm

    If you ever need a few more ideas, I have a few on my hairblog for little girls!

    Mindy
    Adopt a ‘Do – Cute Girls Hairstyles

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


I Heart Snarky Librarians

Click this star to find out how you can support Judy/JustEnjoyHim in her fight against breast cancer:
judy
girls are strong
Alltop, confirmation that I kick ass

Blog Stats

  • 96,351 hits
March 2008
M T W T F S S
« Jan   Apr »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
31  

Categories

Feeds

adoption international adoption reform identity first mothers motherhood daughters


