Isabel’s Room Got Jealous – NaJuPicMo

July 25, 2008 at 12:28 pm 4 comments

That Suzannah’s room got the big re-do, Isabel told me that her room needed some spiffing up too. I rose to the challenge and started going through boxes and thinking about colors. I repositioned the crib and cleaned out the closet. Here is what we ended up doing.

1 yard oil cloth: $7.99
1 packet of doll house clothes pins: $1.99
Flower-Shaped placemats: $12.00
Redecorating with stuff I had around the house…PRICELESS!

 

 

 

 

 

 

This is the kiddie picnic table all done up with oil cloth which I love for kids’ projects and under high chairs and picnics too. 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Got out all the doll dresses that I played with when I was a girl, some of which were my mom’s doll dresses from the 1930’s and 40’s.  This is only fueling the ongoing vintage dress obsession. 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

No, I didn’t make this.  I got it about 6 months ago and it’s from the Land of Nod catalog and I have coveted it ever since Suzannah was a toddler.  Yay for having two girls!  Izzy gets to lay in her crib and wake up to tiny doll dresses on her wall.  (Are you noticing a theme here????) 

 

 

 

The lighting on this is terrible, I understand.  But, if you can imagine buttery yellow flower-shaped placemats, then you can see what I’ve done with them.  I got out about a yard and a half of ribbon, glued on these flowers with fabric glue and about two hours later, I had an instant valance for a very plain window.  No sewing whatsoever.  I bought the placemats on deep discount not having any clue what I’d do with them.  I love it when things turn out to be a perfect thing for something you haven’t even planned yet.  So now Isabel’s room is very soft and warm and inviting.

Entry filed under: Adoption, blogging, Children, crafty, Daughters, decorating, fabric, Family, feedsack, Isabel, Motherhood, najupicmo, Parenting, pictures, sewing, Shopping, vintage.

You Can Pick Your Friends, But Don’t Pick Your… NaJuPicMo Beautiful Isabel – NaJuPicMo

4 Comments Add your own

  • 1. M.  |  July 25, 2008 at 12:53 pm

    So sweet! Woob’s getting to an age where his infant “lamby” theme is needing upgraded to something more “all boy”. You inspire me to do it inexpensively.

    Reply
  • 2. Suzanne  |  July 25, 2008 at 1:09 pm

    I love it! So girly and creative. Especially the doll clothes line! My favorite accessory though, is that gorgeous little girl at the table. I can’t wait to get one just like that!

    I also love repurposing stuff for decorative projects. One of my favorite tricks: upholstering dressers! I have a black laminate Ikea 3-drawer dresser that has been reincarnated several times, thanks to various fabric remnants I’ve had around the house. I’m thinking I may upholster Matilda’s toybox one of these days, too. I’m not too jazzed about my paint choice on it.

    But back to your room. BRAVO!

    -Suzanne

    Reply
  • 3. imtina  |  July 25, 2008 at 3:46 pm

    Thanks girls!

    M, if you send me pics of stuff you want in his room, maybe we can brainstorm together on how to do it. First, go hunt and gather around the house. Suzanne is right, you can do a lot with a yard or two of fabric too. YAY recycling!

    Tina

    Reply
  • 4. marynsmommy  |  July 26, 2008 at 11:59 pm

    YOU ARE SO TALENTED!!!

    I need your help!!! ha ha

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


I Heart Snarky Librarians

Click this star to find out how you can support Judy/JustEnjoyHim in her fight against breast cancer:
judy
girls are strong
Alltop, confirmation that I kick ass

Blog Stats

  • 96,520 hits
July 2008
M T W T F S S
« Jun   Aug »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
28293031  

Categories

Feeds

adoption international adoption reform identity first mothers motherhood daughters


