BAKE Party at Suzanne’s

July 28, 2008 at 10:25 pm 5 comments

There’s a new thing happening thanks to Suzanne over at Straight Down the Mountain.  She started this whole idea of families from all over the Bay Area who have or are in-process of adopting from Kyrgyzstan, becoming a group who get together, form community and bonds with each other.  YAY!  B.A.K.E stands for Bay Area Kyrgyz Entourage.  I’m totally a BAKEr.  Here’s what happened:

 

 

Suzanne’s back yard….FAB

 

 

 

 

 

 

In the hammock

 

 

 

 

Suzanne, Ivy & Dylan

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Suzanne’s Lagman was one of several traditional, central Asian dishes served.  One was a dish that I screwed up and it ended up being not the traditional manti but ended up being what I called Kyrgyz nachos.  Please, don’t ask.  Delicious, yes.  Authentic….no.  Absolutely no picture was taken of it.  I’ll do better next year…

Entry filed under: Adoption, Adoption Blog, B.A.K.E, blogging, Children, cooking, Daughters, Family, Friends, International Adoption, Isabel, Kyrgyzstan, Motherhood, najupicmo, pictures, Zannie.

Beautiful Isabel – NaJuPicMo Nice Hubby

5 Comments Add your own

  • 1. michelle  |  July 29, 2008 at 6:35 am

    I am sooo jealous – i can never make it to anything. I am going to find a job in 2 years with lots of vacation time and crash every kyrgyz get together with my whole crew to make up for my pathetic attendance in the last year (and probably the next 2 years!)

    Reply
  • 2. Hilary  |  July 29, 2008 at 7:40 am

    What a fun time! I wish I was closer…to anyone! I’m glad so many of you can get the kids together like that. What a special gift for all of you. Maybe a few more years and I’ll get out that direction again 🙂

    Reply
  • 3. Scott and Kate  |  July 29, 2008 at 8:14 am

    We also had a great time and look forward to our next encounter with everyone. What a blast!

    Reply
  • 4. Suzanne  |  July 29, 2008 at 3:29 pm

    Woo-hoo! BAKE!!!! Tina named us by the way.

    While my Lagman was authentic, it tasted kind of bland. So I’ll try to improve that for the next get together. But the Shashlyk and the Nouveau Kyrgyz Nachos were yummy. There was also a Kyrgyz carrot salad that I loved. Went back for seconds on that.

    But really, it was the folks in attendance who made it so fun.

    -Suzanne

    Reply
  • 5. haze  |  July 29, 2008 at 7:24 pm

    That looks like a fun party! And I’ll bet the food was DE-LISH!

    Reply

Leave a comment

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


I Heart Snarky Librarians

Click this star to find out how you can support Judy/JustEnjoyHim in her fight against breast cancer:
judy
girls are strong
Alltop, confirmation that I kick ass

Blog Stats

  • 104,667 hits
July 2008
M T W T F S S
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
28293031  

Categories

Feeds

adoption international adoption reform identity first mothers motherhood daughters